Introducing Scott Krippayne and Jeff Peabody, American Idol Songwriting Winners

at . Comments

On Tuesday night's performance show, Jordin Sparks got all choked up while singing "This Is My Now," the song she will record if she wins American Idol.

The touching song was written by Seattle songwriters Scott Krippayne and Jeff Peabody, the winners of American Idol's first-ever songwriting competition.

According to FOX, Scott is a professional songwriter and Jeff is a full-time pastor. The writing team won the competition after 25,000 submissions and more than 500,000 votes.

For winning the contest, they earned a publishing deal with 19 Entertainment.

Matt Richenthal is the Editor in Chief of TV Fanatic. Follow him on Twitter and on Google+.